News:

To support the forum with your donation, please check https://tinyurl.com/4vv24dup.

Main Menu

Muzzle brakes and brain damage

Started by bikemutt, April 16, 2024, 06:49:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bikemutt

I chatted with a fellow shooter and range member yesterday while I was on RSO duty. I've known him for years, and served RSO duty with him many times. This guy is very intelligent, a commercial international pilot by trade, and a serious competitive shooter.

I think because he knows I shoot with a brake, he dove into the risks of brain damage caused by the repeated concussive blast from muzzle brakes. He no longer will use a brake, nor flash hider; it's either no muzzle device or a suppressor. It didn't seem to matter when I explained that the shooter, myself in this case, doesn't feel the concussive blast, it's the folks on the sides, or standing behind the shooter that feel the blast, I say this because I've been the guy standing behind braked shooters.

In any event, this fellow shooter urged me to reconsider using a brake, I have no reason to believe his advice is anything but genuine, and given because he cares about me as friend.

I did an internet search on the matter and found several articles that appear to confirm what my friend told me. That said, I don't shoot 100s or 1000s of rounds on a regular basis, like military members may be required to do. Anyway, below is a link to one person's viewpoint on this which appears in-sync with what my friend stated.

Brain Drain

What do you guys think?
Chris

LeadHammer

It's possible if you hang out in the blast zone I would think. Also having your face on the stock for many many rounds may do it.
I feel more blast shooting into the wind with no ear plugs with my .17HMR than with my 6.5 w/brake and muffs.

DHuffman

A bunch of the BR guys got their undies in a bunch about it last summer.