Skip to main content
Topic: 7mm Creedmoor (Read 6786 times) previous topic - next topic

7mm Creedmoor

Been reading here and there about various 7mm Creedmoor projects - does anyone on here have some experience or knowledge about 7mm Creedmoor?

If someone wanted to run with a 7mm Creedmoor project, is there a standard chamber spec out there, or would someone have to make up a dummy round and send it in to have a custom reamer made? And, how does one go about having custom dies made? I've never done anything like this before, I have no idea what is required...

I am familiar with the relative merits of 6.5 Creedmoor vs. 260 Remington - mainly, the Creedmoor allows you to  utilize relatively long 140gr high BC bullets in a short action (or AR platform) without having to seat the bullet deep into the case, which reduces powder capacity. Do the same arguments apply to a comparison between 7mm Creedmoor and 7mm-08??? In theory, would a 7 Creed offer anything over a 7-08?

Re: 7mm Creedmoor

Reply #1
7mm - Well I would keep it as simple as I could!!   I would neck up some 6.5Cm brass, seat the intended .284/7mm pill to an OAL that would feed from My receiver/magazine & send that dummy round to Dave Kiff @ PT&G and have Him grind a chamber reamer!! As for sizing dies I would have Dave make a sizing Die reamer from the same dummy and have the same smith that chambers My barrel also chamber My reamer!!
I know some guys will cringe but this is how I would do a personal 7mmCreedmoor!!!!