January 24, 2022, 05:27:02 PM

News:

To support the forum with your donation, please check https://tinyurl.com/4vv24dup.

Reloading start up

Started by visserj, January 12, 2022, 03:13:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

visserj

This is my first time with a forum so if this is not the right way to start a question to the group than please feel free to educate me. I am wanting to reload for my 6.5 CM Tikka and looking to set up a very accurate load for hunting out to around 500 yards. I reloaded a little about 30 years ago but it seems much more technical now then what I remember. I am looking for information about the following.
What is the best brass to buy -
Is it better to buy brass with a small or larger primer hole -
What is the preferred primer -
How often do the case necks need to be annealed and is there a inexpensive way to accomplish this -
Is a tumbler required and do you tumble each time -
I was considering the Horrnady ELD X - 143 gr bullet for hunting
The biggest question is what dies to buy and use ? Brand and how many are required (I see 2 or 3 are required), what type of dies and there seems to be a vast selection bushing/no bushing et cetera and I am very confused !!
There is something about load development that I don't quite understand where you try and find a stable node of velocity and then work on bullet seating depth for accuracy -

Thanks

gman47564