January 24, 2022, 04:41:14 PM

News:

To support the forum with your donation, please check https://tinyurl.com/4vv24dup.

Attitude of people that work in the firearm business

Started by TeddyBear45, December 19, 2021, 08:06:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TeddyBear45

I'm an older newbie to firearms and have noticed one irritating thing over the last couple of months.  A LOT of people that work behind gun counters and at ranges are jerks with an attitude.  Don't get me wrong, I've come across a handful of awesome people, but I have also come across a huge amount of people that are just plain rude.
I may have more basic questions than the experienced folks, but I always try to be polite and friendly because I want to learn and I like to show respect for their knowledge and experience.

I get the last two years with labor shortages, huge demand for firearms/ammo, a lot new gun ownersh etc can create a lot of work stress for people, so maybe that's the reason, but can't help but wonder if this has always been.

jvw2008

December 19, 2021, 10:44:06 AM #1 Last Edit: December 19, 2021, 10:46:04 AM by jvw2008
Teddy I'm also in that older age group but not new to the sport. I also recently see sales folks cop an attitude on occasion. Not just in the firearm business but in all retail sales. I think it's more a generational thing (think they are called the Z generation) than a firearm thing.

LeadHammer

It happens everywhere. Firearm related or not.
I think everyone generally has less patience, lots of folks on the edge. I don't get to worked up anymore. I will spend my money where the products and good service are however if I have that option. I think of the pressure I currently have, and realize they probably have it too.