News:

To support the forum with your donation, please check https://tinyurl.com/4vv24dup.

Main Menu

Shooting and Loading the Hornady 6.5 Creedmoor

Started by txcas, February 17, 2010, 07:54:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Downeast

I'm new at this reloading above Max loads so please bare with me. :-[  I have a 1:8 Krieger #3 26 inch bbl with 49 rounds through it as of yesterday. I'm loading 140 Berger VLD's with H4350. COAL is book; 2.80.  I did a ladder test yesterday starting at 37.0 grains and working up to 41.0 grains in 1 grain increments. 37.0 was the most accurate (0.43 inch; 3 shot group) and 41.0 was 0.76 inch with a 3 shot group. These figures are based on dividing the group by 2 since they were shot at 200 yards. Put me at 100 yards and my groups are measured in feet and I have to use refrigerator boxes for targets. So, I'm going to work up to 42 grains today and see what happens. Personally, I think it is the old 8-ball Geezer behind the gun and that there is not enough difference between 37 grains and 41 grains except velocity. I figured once I got a "good" group I would start tweaking COAL and then start running velocities.  Ha! ::)

Geezing in NC
Tom

IMPORTANT: These comments may contain information that is erroneous, false, or unsuitable for overly sensitive persons with low self-esteem, no sense of humor, or irrational religious beliefs. Any opinions expressed are my own and generally unpopular with others.

Rob01

Chrono that 37grn load. I am betting it is very slow. But if it works for you then stick with it.

Cold Trigger Finger

Tom;  Many of us found our best accuracy load within 42 gr of H4350 with 140 Berger's . Mine is 42.8 gr . gives me sub 1" groups at 300meters. Tho far and away from any kind of bragging group on here , its pretty good , OK from a factory rifle that I chopped the barrel off. Myself, with a Sawzall ! ;D